The List

I like planning. I like taking a piece of paper and writing down things I need to pack, things I need to do next week, books I want to read, places I want to visit (and exact opening times and prices so I could make a vague day plan and an approximate budget) and of course bus times for next morning so I wouldn’t be late for work / meeting up with someone.

Knowing this, it’s probably not surprising that I have written down a list of things I want to do during my time in Brussels. I like having clear goals and I definitely do not want to go there to kill time. I want to go there to experience as much as possible and know in a year’s time that I have had an amazing year and I’m wiser and happier than before.

This list is not complete in any way, I’ll be adding things during my time there as well.

  1. Write down everything I spend. (So I’d learn not to spend so much money on ridiculously expensive cake and sweets.)
  2. Go to a French-speaking town and use only French to get by, no English allowed.
  3. Make a blog post in French. (Preferably without grammar mistakes…)
  4. Spend a weekend in London. (Just because I love London.)
  5. Take a cheap flight with just hand luggage to a random location. (Open Ryanair.com, close your eyes, point to a random destination.)
  6. Try ridiculously expensive chocolate of five different chocolatiers. (I know, this slightly clashes with #1.)
  7. Hop on a random train to take a trip to a random location. Try to get by in the local language, be it French or Dutch.
  8. Have a computer-free weekend. Not even a sneaky peek to check e-mails or Facebook!
  9. Find the local Estonians’ community and attend at least one event.
  10. Learn how to properly ride a bike. (I know, “You’re 22 and still can’t ride a bike!?”, no need to say it…)
  11. Learn how to swim properly. (I nearly drowned as a kid, okay? I’ll learn not to fear deeper water one day.)
  12. Write the dystopian story I’ve had in my head for three years by now. Or at least a few chapters!
  13. Go to at least three gigs. (Now this should be an easy one.)
  14. Go to the centre to have coffee during sunrise and enjoy the view. (Or tea, since my body doesn’t handle coffee all too well.)
  15. Take a tour in the European Parliament. Or two.
  16. Visit Waterloo. (It’s really close, would be silly not to go.)
  17. Party in Brussels’ “Gay Village”. (Brussels is supposed to be the gay capital of Europe and the parties are amazing, as I’ve heard.)
  18. Learn a new skill. (Or at least join a choir to develop an old skill.)
  19. Read more history books. Perhaps even in French.
  20. Learn enough about architecture to be able to properly admire the amazing historical buildings in Brussels and distinguish between different styles.
  21. Visit Willemijn in Gent.
  22. Visit Antwerpen and take a walk in the Diamond Quartier.
  23. Visit Brugge. (And perhaps do a boat tour on the canals.)
4 thoughts on “The List

  1. Will do! And Brugge is definitely on my to visit list! I have made a Google map for myself where I marked down interesting places in Brussels and I’ve also done it for Antwerp, Gent, Brugge, and Leuven 🙂

  2. Yes – definitely get some of that wonderful dystopian story written out! I loved the few snippets you posted on the boats before – you write beautifully in English!

    And sampling the chocolate, well that goes without saying, obviously! And if you’re planning any UK adventures let me know 😀 Sxx

    • Aw, thanks :$

      I definitely want some UK adventures! I just have to see when it would be possible for me, first I have to move and see how things work out there. I’ll let you know if I’m heading in that direction 🙂

Comment

