cloudy Brussels and finished room

I am beginning to understand why even people who whine about London being rainy say that Brussels is worse than London. I have been here for a bit more than two weeks and I have seen clear skies once or twice during that time. Usually it’s either dramatic clouds or dramatic clouds with bonus rain. Still, I’m not whining – I’d rather take a lot of rain than a lot of snow.

Every time I go out in Brussels, I find at least one graffiti I haven’t seen before. My latest catch:

This one actually looks so cool that I wouldn’t mind having it on canvas as my room decoration. Too bad I can’t take a proper photo of it though, the fences are so high that someone as short as me can’t get a photo without those. On a slightly related note, it’s rather difficult to find a proper raincoat for someone of my size without paying more than 100€ for it. I already got soaked today, going out with my non-rainproof coat. Thanks, surprise rainfall! I might go back to the skyscrapers district where I found some possible rain protection in stores. If those are too pricy… I guess I have to look through the kiddy stores again. I’m not short, I’m just vertically challenged!

I don’t have much to write about the latest city trip, I mainly went through stores to find stuff for my room. I do have a few photos though, so here you go:

The last photo is a short walk away from my home. It’s a very nice neighbourhood and I know that there should be a street with lots of art nouveau buildings close by. My mission for the next neighbourhood walk is to find that street.

In other news, my room does not look like a temporary crashing place anymore, it has furniture and lights and it looks really cosy now.

2 thoughts on “cloudy Brussels and finished room

    • Thanks for the tip! I eventually got mine from H&M today, but I might look for a cheaper one in Hema that I could use while out with the kids. Being an au pair is an awesome job, but it does produce dirty clothes quite fast.

Comment

