why I hate trains

train station

Christmas break has ended and I’m back in Brussels, working as an au pair. The journey from Charleroi airport to Brussels was a bittersweet one. On one hand, I had said goodbye to my family, friends and Estonia and it made me want to cry. On the other hand, I was going from icy Tallinn to +8 degrees in Brussels to do the job I love, so I should have been smiling. I just stared out of the window of the shuttle bus, listened to Radical Face and tried to hold the tears back.

The entire journey lasted for 12-13 hours (bus from Tallinn to Riga, waiting at the aiport, flying to Charleroi, taking the shuttle bus to Brussels), but even despite that I was still certain that flights are better than train rides. How come? Well, I can present a list of reasons.

  • You can close your eyes once you have boarded an airplane and wake up when you land, thus making the journey seem extremely short. On the train you have to keep an eye on where you are or you might wake up in a random town in the middle of nowhere.
  •  You don’t have to stare at your belongings all the time, fearing they might get stolen. On a plane, you put most of your stuff away and the things you keep on you are under the chair and quite difficult for others to reach. On a train someone can just walk by, snatch your suitcase and jump off the train just as the doors are closing, leaving you staring at the thief while the train takes you away.
  • You don’t have to navigate the labyrinth called “a train station”. Seriously, airports are so much easier. Though this might be because I have had more flights than train journeys.
  • You can always get information in English (I’m talking about European airports though, I haven’t travelled outside Europe much). This eliminates the possibility of a situation where you’re standing in the middle of a huge train station in Paris, tired and close to tears, and still have to be able to speak perfect French because nobody understands you otherwise. Or hey, Italian train stations are fun as well! (Not.)

Want another reason for why I hate trains? I’ll tell you a story. In December I had to take a train trip from Ghent to Brussels. It’s a short trip, 35 minutes max. Worrying that I’d be late for work, I took an earlier train than I had planned. Well, that plan backfired majorly. I got on the train, it started moving… only to stop about 15 minutes later. And then there was an avalanche of announcements, each giving different information.

According to the announcements, there is a short delay, the train is returning to Ghent, the train is going to Brussels, there will be replacement transport, the train will go back to Ghent, the replacement transport is on the way, there is a disturbance on the tracks, the train will continue to Brussels, the train will take everyone to the next stop where we could catch a new train, there is a serious problem and the delay may be another hour, the police is evacuating half of the train, the train will take everyone to a different Brussels station than planned. Now try to understand that! And all the time, other trains were passing by on the tracks next to us…

Later I read from the news that three wagons got detached from a train between Ghent and Brussels. Guess which train I was on! By the way, I may have been in one of the detached wagons that was later left on the tracks, because I was asked to change wagons after we had been sitting for a bit. Everything was in Dutch though and I hadn’t slept much (I had been to a Muse concert the previous night), so it was difficult for me to grasp all the details.

Anyway, I got home three hours later than planned, cold and hungry and thirsty and needing to pee (because the train had no toilets) and I was completely late for work. I vowed then to never start liking trains, because trains suck. An airport has never reduced me to tears because I have no idea where my flight is departing from or what time it goes. It has happened several times in train stations though and I’m normally pretty good at figuring out where I have to go.

For those who want to practise Dutch and/or just see a video of that unfortunate train incident, here’s the news item: http://www.deredactie.be/cm/vrtnieuws/regio/oostvlaanderen/1.1507813

Comment

